Something Of You

I drove unthinking
Past a stop sign –
Deep, deep, into the desert.

I sat beside self-pity and said
How much better it would be
Were I Young and Beautiful
Heartless
Rich
And
Powerful.

(Even self-pity laughed!)

Well, the tears came.
And they were sweet.
So sweet.
You see, I have been in the desert.
I have:

Lain
Beneath brilliant skies.

Drowned in silence.

Found myself.

Discovered my true Name

And – when you were asleep –
I whispered it to you.

I learned that it is not
The Hopes, Dreams, Lovers
That are gone, that matter,

But what remains.

Though we will never kiss
Or behaviour with such
Amazing irresponsibility
Again

Here, in the Deep I walk with
Something of you.

Something very precious
Not guarded, or owned.

Not quite understood.

Tags:

About sonnet33

Poet. That's It.

Leave a comment